Topic: [System specific, got fixed by itself] Extreme Slowdowns  (Read 2262 times)


Nydxz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
« Reply #15 on: August 09, 2018, 05:08:14 PM »
I know the problem "fixed" itself, but, If I had to bet, I would say It had something to do with the rare bug of the map maintance routine reloading tiles too often... Ir maybe the game dont having support for multi-threating...
 Nota site about the last.

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: December 03, 2018, 02:20:15 AM »
Frustratingly, this bug is back with a vengeance. This time it arose differently though. I was playing normally. Alt tabbed to adjust my music and when I can back the game was slowed to a crawl, laggy as well. I tried: reinstalling with no mods, restarting pc, doing all possible updates to my system, restarting the game. It persists though all of these.

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #17 on: December 03, 2018, 02:22:56 AM »
Task manager also shows no undue usage of cpu or other resources.

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #18 on: December 03, 2018, 02:36:32 AM »
Figured it out, if a screenshot is taken using the steam overlay (accidentally in my case) the game slows to a crawl. Solution is not accidentally hitting the f12 key  :)

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #19 on: December 03, 2018, 02:46:30 AM »
Wrong again it seems. The steam overlay thing was just a coincidence. I'm at a loss.  :'(

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #20 on: December 03, 2018, 04:53:47 AM »
The bug appears to occur and "fix" itself randomly. An hour after my last post, and the game is working again? This makes me think the problem is associated with a specific process...

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #21 on: December 03, 2018, 04:57:08 AM »
I quit out of the game to write my last post and the game seems to have broke again. It has nothing to do with the steam DRM. I tried the nonsteam version with the same problem.

PALU

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 665
    • View Profile
« Reply #22 on: December 03, 2018, 09:47:47 AM »
Antivirus scanning? Windows indexing (apparently a Very Important Process)?

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2018, 04:28:14 PM »
It is not AV interference of any kind. I have done everything in my power to cripple windows's built in av suite. it isn't indexing either as the game performs fine on my laptop running the exact OS. I would think it is a hardware issue, but the game used to work perfectly.

PALU

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 665
    • View Profile
« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2018, 07:38:03 PM »
Indexing isn't running continuously, but intermittently. In my case it locks out things like getting the task manager up when its running (there are ways around that).

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2018, 10:06:52 PM »
My laptop indexes with no bad effects, Indexing does not seem to be a problem on the laptop at least?

Faatal

  • Honorary Lifetime Supporter
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • View Profile
« Reply #26 on: December 12, 2018, 05:12:49 AM »
This is still a problem. ATM the game is unplayable  :'(