Topic: Trapping advice  (Read 4023 times)

Jephraim

« on: March 30, 2021, 06:34:34 PM »
Hi, I am in my first year of trapping. I have had some success trapping fowl in small deadfall traps, but I would like to make trapping a major part of my income. I have been laying paw-board traps trying to get foxes. My strategy has been to put four traps around a piece of bait, in some cases I have a small deadfall trap with the bait. I put a set of four traps at each tile along this river. So far its been about a month and nothing caught. Do you have any advice for making this approach better?

JP_Finn

« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2021, 06:57:08 PM »
Paw board needs to be baited individually. Otherwise you get nothing.

Tip of paw board is like “w”, the center being usually bit taller than the sides. The bait is placed in the center. With the board erected upright: to get the bait, fox has to jump up to nudge the bait off. But while nudging the bait; it’ll get stuck on the notch and stay dangling until trapper comes to harvest.

If there’s no bait on pawboard, there no reason for the fox/vixen to jump to knock it down; and so will never catch a fox.
« Last Edit: March 30, 2021, 06:58:43 PM by JP_Finn »

Jephraim

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2021, 06:59:16 PM »
Awesome, Thank you. That clarification helps a lot. I had read somewhere else that someone had the approach that they make a circle of paw-boards around a central bait pile, so I had tried to adapt that approach.

Do you have any advice for how many traps should put in specific locations?

PALU

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2021, 07:52:58 PM »
JP_Finn describes how it works in reality. The UrW logic is somewhat different, as pawboards can catch animals that just step on that tile. In your case you left the diagonals open, and I would expect animals to frequently walk around the traps to get to the center, assuming they want to go to the center.