Topic: building a shelter  (Read 11801 times)

runtheball

« on: September 25, 2017, 03:21:36 AM »
I'm new to this game, but already addicted to it! Frustrated, however, by the process of building a shelter. I can't seem to get the walls to connect, and often I can't even get them placed where I intended. I placed a north wall with shutter, and it went up just fine, but when I tried to connect to the left edge of that wall section I got very strange results. I had to remove the wall with shutter in order to successfully build the wall section to the left of it.
Another issue is the SE corner never seems to form the backwards "L" shape that the you'd expect. I've built the NE and NW corners, and both form a sort of "L" but the SE is a simple vertical line. I can't build a wall section to the left of it, as the game says that area is not clear of objects. I can walk through the area, and can't pick up any objects in that location. So why can't I connect to this SE corner?
See attached image, where I nearly completed the SE corner. I've completed and torn it down twice already, and this 3rd time looks like it will turn out the same.
Can anyone explain the secret of placing wall sections? On the surface, it seems pretty obvious how to do it, but the obvious method isn't working.

spamgoose

« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2017, 04:02:11 AM »
I think you're actually doing it right, but maybe overthinking it. The SE corner from the picture you show looks right to me. You can see the overlapping logs that would form it. The L shape might be more pronounced looking on the northern corners because of the isometic view.

As far as shutters and walls not connecting, you need to complete things to see how it will look. Walls with shutters will snap into place when you've put in the ceilings/floors, and walls will connect up when they are all finished. It just sometimes doesn't look like it when you are building. It's as simple as:

CNNC
WXXE
WXXE
CSDC