Topic: Hemp cord experiment  (Read 4175 times)

Dynggyldai

« on: January 08, 2023, 11:22:32 PM »
Are hemp cords implemented in UrW yet?
Today I found some dry hemp at the side of the woods so I decided to test how it works in Real World. I made this in like 10-15 minutes and it's surprisingly strong, stronger than some store-bought cords of the same thickness. Definitely enough to hang a kilogram of meat for smoking or drying, I will test with bigger weights later.
While I have done this before with other plants, I'm not an expert and hadn't made wild cords for like 7 years. So a starting character from UnReal World could probably make it too as long as they have enough herblore to identify hemp.

ineedcords

« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2023, 11:57:11 PM »
Are hemp cords implemented in UrW yet?
Today I found some dry hemp at the side of the woods so I decided to test how it works in Real World. I made this in like 10-15 minutes and it's surprisingly strong, stronger than some store-bought cords of the same thickness. Definitely enough to hang a kilogram of meat for smoking or drying, I will test with bigger weights later.
While I have done this before with other plants, I'm not an expert and hadn't made wild cords for like 7 years. So a starting character from UnReal World could probably make it too as long as they have enough herblore to identify hemp.
While it is only partially, there is a gameplay question in there so I am happy to classify this thread as so...

In terms of a type of tying equipment that can be produced relatively quickly, in many places, all-year round and can be used to hang meat for preservation, see withes.
Personally you may be aware of withes already but worth mentioning, for others who might see this and are unaware.
Below is a relevant excerpt from the NEWS.TXT file that is distributed with the game and sits in the game main directory.
Code: [Select]
Version: 3.60 (stable)
Released: Oct-28-2019
<snip>
 - added: tree saplings