Topic: Taking on a Njerpez w/ a dog  (Read 4051 times)

Jephraim

« on: April 02, 2021, 10:39:05 PM »
I recently got brave enough to take on a Njerpez, easily won my first battle. I am well armored, green everywhere except face, and I am an expert with the spear. I fight by throwing javelins until my enemy is close and then using the northern spear. I was considering fighting another Njerpez, but he is accompanied by a dog. Are dogs difficult to fight? How much does the dog add to the average Njerpez's fighting chances? Thanks!

PALU

« Reply #1 on: April 02, 2021, 11:12:04 PM »
I've never fought a Njerp with a dog, but I have fought quite a few Njerps (and robbers). One very important thing to keep in mind that just because one is a pushover, the next one doesn't have to be. Some are very difficult to deal with.

The problem with a dog companion is that it may attack from behind while you attack the Njerp from the front, and you can't defend against attacks you can't see coming...

Njerp + dog should normally be less of a threat than two Njerps, though.

Also, dogs don't have armor, so a lucky hit can kill it with a single stroke (Njerps have done that to a number of my characters' dogs...).

Finally, UrW fights are dangerous. A single lucky hit to the eyes can easily end a character.

Edico

« Reply #2 on: April 02, 2021, 11:26:22 PM »
To echo what Palu said, any time you choose to fight in this game you might die. Njerpez are very random in their equipment allotment, physical attributes, and I'm assuming in skills too. So you might get a bunch in a row that have poor speed, endurance, dexterity, etc, only the next time to be met with one with a bastard sword that is a beast!