Topic: Nutrition system  (Read 9706 times)

Boartato

« on: September 05, 2018, 10:41:50 PM »
This is something a friend mentioned when I started playing and I'm somewhat confused as well. All plant matter seems to destroy your nutrition, regardless of how it's cooked or eaten. Admittedly I haven't progressed to stews quite yet, but raw/soup for turnips, mushrooms, berries all do the same thing. It's bad enough that I'd rather take the 2-3% starvation penalty and not bother gathering them. Even making pike soup out of my turnips trashed my nutrition bar.

This is half and half question and discussion. I'm wondering if I'm missing something (certain plants or berries being good, that I just haven't found?), or if it's a design choice I don't understand with regards to how nutrition works. Any links to previous posts/discussions on this topic would be very much appreciated!

koteko

« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2018, 11:38:03 PM »
Nutrition is, as far as calories are concerned (forget about vitamins and nutrient imbalances), simulated realistically enough. Each task as a certain energy cost which vary with difficulty (eg, easy tasks should cost 2 kcal/minute) and each food has a certain energy content as determined by its carb, protein and fat content.

You have two relevant bars: hunger and nutrition. If you eat 1lb of food, you are going to reduce your hunger regardless of food type (I believe). However, that lb of food will have maximum calories if made of pure fat. 1lb of fat is more than 4000 kcal, and that's really a lot.

However, 1lb of turnip is only 145 kcal. It's immensely less than 1lb of fat. And if you only eat turnip, even if you have an infinite quantity of them and do nothing but eat them, you'll slowly starve.