Topic: Having trouble with trapping.  (Read 4976 times)

Matty1v1

« on: April 16, 2023, 07:08:52 PM »
I've already looked at some trapping guides, but I can't seem to trap a single animal. I tried putting lever traps along a lake bank, no dice. Tried trap fences, got nothing. Couldn't catch a single fox with a paw trap. Is it supposed to be this hard and unsatisfying or am I doing something wrong? And can someone please explain the mechanics behind trapping? How does it work under the hood?

Bert Preast

« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2023, 11:34:59 PM »
I'm no expert trapper but from what I have observed, trapping can be rather seasonal.  I tend to get nothing for a month or two, then suddenly I am getting a couple of kills a week.  So the first question is, how long have you been trying?  Next question, how good is your trapping skill?  With trapping around 65%, I have chased elk and deer towards my trap fence and watched the animals avoid the traps, as if they could see them.  So I think the skill matters. 

I usually use light levers and loop snares not at the water's edge; but rather on or around crops, berries and the like.  Obviously this works best when the berries or crops are ripening, I should probably move them during the winter and spring but I am lazy.  Instead I bait them with berries and get a few cold and hungry birds. 

I set trap fences across land bridges to peninsulas or between lakes.  This drives the animals into them, and unless the water is frozen should get a lot of kills.  I make a pit trap every six tiles or so.

I scatter fox traps about pretty randomly and bait them with some raw meat or fish.  If I see a fox, by next morning he is almost always in one of my traps.

Finally, animals don't seem to come to the traps when you are not in residence.  I have left a trap line for over six months, and come back to find it empty.  I suspect the game is husbanding resources by not simulating animal life when the player is not around. 

PALU