Topic: Modding limitations?  (Read 4148 times)

Sloomingbla

« on: August 15, 2020, 05:56:33 PM »
Hey guys, newbie to modding here. I figured out about the mods for this game and jumped with excitement, before realizing the limitations.

I wanted to know, what is it that stops people from creating their own custom creatures, cultures, in game balance and the like? Is it entirely hidden to the users, and if so what could possibly make it so hidden? Encryption? Are there legal issues with trying to break past this barrier? Is it a request from Sami or Enormous elk?

If it has been explained in the past, please link me to the thread that explains it if you could. Because I love this game.. and as an amateur game dev, I would love to expand upon the modding community :).

Teellox

« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2020, 08:30:34 AM »
Hey Sloomingbla! Welcome to the forums!

In my experience with decompiling URW and modding in general, Sami has been super supportive and chill. When I did a deep-dive to find out how missile dynamics worked the other month, Sami was 100% cool with me posting my findings, which I'm very grateful for.

I wanted to know, what is it that stops people from creating their own custom creatures, cultures, in game balance and the like? Is it entirely hidden to the users, and if so what could possibly make it so hidden?

URW has a famously long development history, and is written in C/C++. The code has evolved over time, and you can see this in things like the item and recipe definitions, which can be easily modded. However many aspects of the game are still hard-coded in, with cultures and animals being part of this. Modifying those is hard, not because of any intentional efforts to make it hard, but just because that would normally be done in source code, rather than in configuration.