Topic: Not working on ubuntu 16.04 - sound only  (Read 4533 times)

Nomad

« on: November 27, 2019, 10:28:15 PM »
Hello,
i have over 400 hours in this game on Windows, some time ago decided to switch to Linux cause windows was getting too slow for my old laptop. Im not very linux tech-savvy though but not a complete noob.
Anyway, downloaded 32bit .deb 3.52 version of the game.
my exact version of the system:
Description:   Ubuntu 16.04.6 LTS
Release:   16.04

I THINK i managed to correctly install SDL 2, SDL image 2 and SLD mixer 2 libraries, with not some problems which were resolved through 30 minutes of googling and entering about 50 commands. Something about locked access and other stuff that popped around the way, killing processes, restarting the system, my first problem involved searching this phrase in google "E: Unable to acquire the dpkg frontend lock (/var/lib/dpkg/lock-frontend), are you root?" and some others about not able to install SDL2 libraries, but after like 30 minutes of work i think i managed to install all.

Here is what pops up when i check versions, sorry for the long post.

dpkg -s libsdl2-2.0-0

Code: [Select]
Package: libsdl2-2.0-0
Priority: optional
Section: libs
Installed-Size: 1126
Maintainer: Ubuntu Developers <ubuntu-devel-discuss@lists.ubuntu.com>
Architecture: amd64
Multi-Arch: same
Source: libsdl2
Version: 2.0.4+dfsg1-2ubuntu2.16.04.2
Replaces: libsdl-1.3-0
Depends: libasound2 (>= 1.0.16), libc6 (>= 2.15), libpulse0 (>= 0.99.1), libsndio6.1 (>= 1.1.0), libwayland-client0 (>= 1.9.91), libwayland-cursor0 (>= 1.0.2), libwayland-egl1-mesa (>= 10.0.2) | libwayland-egl1, libx11-6 (>= 2:1.2.99.901), libxcursor1 (>> 1.1.2), libxext6, libxi6 (>= 2:1.2.99.4), libxinerama1, libxkbcommon0 (>= 0.5.0), libxrandr2 (>= 2:1.2.99.3), libxss1, libxxf86vm1
Conflicts: libsdl-1.3-0
Description: Simple DirectMedia Layer
 SDL is a library that allows programs portable low level access to a video
 framebuffer, audio output, mouse, and keyboard.