Topic: Game Crash  (Read 7193 times)

Grand Sage

« on: February 11, 2018, 05:03:16 PM »
My version of the game keeps crashing with a windows report saying "urw.exe has stopped working". The crashes are mostly tied to zooming in and out of the the world map, but it doesn't do so reliably, only something in the lines of 80-90% of the time. It also has crashed when making a new character, though that is less common for me.

I tried removing the .40 stable release and installing the .50 beta, but that does not seam to fix the problem.

My guess would be that it is the same kind of problem that I have run into playing Dwarf Fortress, where windows decides that the program is unresponsive when saving/loading a bunch of data, but I am no expert.

Im running the game on windows 10.
« Last Edit: March 18, 2018, 06:26:50 PM by Sami »

PALU

« Reply #1 on: February 11, 2018, 05:43:10 PM »
Are you running Windows 10 or 10.1?

Windows (10.1) doesn't kill DF for me even during world gen (where it may be "unresponsive" for minutes at a time), so that is probably something peculiar to your computer/OS/setup. UrW is never particularly unresponsive, so I suspect that's not the issue.

Have you placed UrW in some bad place, such as C:Program (x86) (or whatever it's called on your computer)? If I understand it correctly, it doesn't play nice with file access there (I guess it sort of thinks only code should be there, not data). Personally I have UrW (and DF) under D:\Games\Unreal World (and D:\Games\Dwarf Fortress).

Grand Sage

« Reply #2 on: February 11, 2018, 06:14:20 PM »
pretty sure it's windows 10, at least thats what it says windows edition (windows 10 home).

filepath is D:\Jonathan\games\UnRealWorld so that shouldn't be the problem either.

DF never died in world gen either, only when i tried to save in adv mode, but thats probably still unrelated ;)

Grand Sage

« Reply #3 on: February 11, 2018, 07:27:18 PM »